Revaluation of Local Authorities deferred until 2023

Last updated at 13:09 on 09/01/2024

Press Release

The Minister for Housing, Local Government and Heritage has agreed with the Commissioner of Valuation that the Commissioner will defer the revaluation of rateable properties in the following local authority areas until 2023:

Clare County Council, Donegal County Council, Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council, Galway City Council, Galway County Council, Kerry County Council and Mayo County Council.

New valuations arising from the revaluation of these local authorities will now be finalised in October 2023 and become effective for rates purposes from 2024 onwards.

Following the completion of the revaluations of these local authorities, the revaluation of rateable properties in Cork City Council and Cork County Council will be carried out. This will complete the first revaluation of rateable properties in the 31 Local Authorities under the National Revaluation Programme. Subsequently, second revaluations of Local Authorities will take place in Dublin City Council, Waterford City and County Council and Limerick City and County Council.

The revaluations of these local authorities are part of an ongoing national programme to ensure that the rateable valuations of all commercial and industrial properties in Ireland are updated on a regular cycle so as to maintain relativity between individual ratepayers in the same local authority area. The purpose of revaluation is to bring increased transparency and equity to the local authority rating system.

Neither residential property nor agricultural lands are rateable and consequently are not affected by revaluation.

If you require further information, please contact the Valuation Office as follows:

Phone: 01 8171006


Reval Deferral FAQs